Thursday, March 30, 2017

Shifting to the Left ~ Round 4

While the damage seems negligible, there is evidence of a part of the mass expanding in an explosion of purple-and-red pus where Enrico hit the creature, before this is pulled back into the mass's body.

It attacks both Enrico and Kismet, missing both characters but striking Enrico's armor.  I will need a d20 rolled from Enrico.

The creature also seems to be recoiling from the flames, squeezing towards 0404.

Showing the Party's moves from last round.

Here is the party's position following their move, but before Enrico was hit:


As well, here is the experience from the combat thus far.  Please, I'm not perfect, I could have missed damage somewhere.  Please correct me if you see an error:


14 comments:

Sofia Viktorova Koleva said...

Sofia steps into 0804 if she can fit. Otherwise, 0704. How many books can she garb this round?

Alexis Smolensk said...

There aren't many of them, only six. They are pretty dog-eared and well-read, and a quick glance tells you they're fairly mundane. One is a book of recipes and another is a set of rules for acting members of the Ottoman Army. These look like books that guards would read when they're bored.

Sofia Viktorova Koleva said...

Meh. If I lit one on fire could it make an effective thrown weapon against the blob?

Enrico Guerriero said...

Enrico d20 - 15

Maybe we should just fall back and wait for this thing to leave of its own accord. We'll never kill it at this rate.

Sofia Viktorova Koleva said...

I understand your concern Enrico, nobody wants to lose their armor not to mention hit points. But where do we fall back to and what would cause the blob to leave and which way would it go? It can't make it up the ladder.

Kismet said...

Yeah it's likely the blob will be content to just sit and dissolve the debris. I take a swing at the now adjacent blob. But since moving next to an enemy is costly I'll hope it moves away.

D20 : 4

Should we be adding strength?

Enrico Guerriero said...

At the moment it is in the only corner where there's nothing to eat. Perhaps if we leave it alone it will move on to "greener pastures." It's not like there's a ticking time bomb in here.

Enrico Guerriero said...

But I suppose we should be helping it along.

Enrico steps into 0503 and tries to burn it some more, swatting it again with his torch.

D20 - 11 (12 if we add strength)
D3 - 2 (3 if we add strength)

Kismet said...

Yeah we are already herding it, we just need to keep doing so and hope we can last the 3-4 rounds it will take.

Kismet said...

I guess technically we might have been able to take our armor off before the fight if we didn't want to risk it. That said, taking a hit to the unarmored chest unnecessarily doesn't sound good either.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I must suppose you have in your minds those old rules that stated a creature like this would tap you and in a single round your armor would melt off your body completely, as it suddenly turned to instant rust.

Let me reassure you, I do not play by such rules. Armor is massive and hard. While it can be attacked with acid, a single hit cannot masticate an entire suit. Enrico made his saving throw; a fail would have meant he had lost ONE armor class. Only that. I'd have to hit his armor over and over to cause a total destruction.

And any hits to his actual person would not be an attack against his armor.

Alexis Smolensk said...

[For general information. I am going to be available to run today. However, the people who usually live with my partner and I are leaving for Las Vegas on the weekend for five days. We plan to spend this time in cheerful, quiet reflection, with no little romance, meaning that I expect to be online much less for a little while. I will be around, I will see comments, I will even find time to answer a few, but I'm going to take this opportunity to rest is a quiet space for as long as it lasts]

But today we can play if you have a mind to. I'll work towards sorting out the moves and putting up the next round. Give me fifteen minutes, I don't have access to my game computer just now (it is reconfiguring).

Alexis Smolensk said...

Enrico will miss. The mass, in response, will swing a big lump of itself at Enrico, hitting with a natural 20. The second roll indicates this is double-damage, 4 x2 = 8.

That will knock Enrico back into 0604, while the mass will flow into 0405 and away from the ladder.

Kismet could attack, or could climb onto the bottom of the ladder this round (would leave his feet four feet off the floor).

I'll work at getting a new map up and the experience as well.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.