Tuesday, March 28, 2017

It Isn't Harmless ~ Round 2

There's no question that the fire affected the creature, but it is not helpless.  It has just stunned Sofia from two hexes away, even as it hugs the wall near the books.

Sofia, I will need a d20 from you, as the front of your robe (or whatever you are wearing on your upper body) is attacked.

Enrico and Kismet both have torches lit and can act as they will.  Here is the present position of the party:


Enrico Guerriero said...

Let's hope the thing isn't completely mindless and as Sofia suggested we can get it to move to the right side of the room and leave us the ladder.

Enrico advances to 0605, waving the torch to threaten the creature, but not burning it, hoping it move farther away from the ladder.

Kismet said...

Sofia, just go for the ladder since you're lowest on HP.

I'm at 12

Enrico, you or me for next up?

This turn, I will move to 606, I believe at double cost that's as far forwards as I can go.

Kismet said...

In case it matters, I have shield and torch. Sword is sheathed.

Enrico Guerriero said...

Oh, forgot about double cost. Don't think I can make it to 0605. I go to 0705.

I have my shield and a lit torch.

Kismet, I'm at 16 HP and better armored so I'll go up last.

Alexis Smolensk said...


There is no debris between 0507 and 0607, but there is that large board between 0607 and 0606. I count that as your spending 3AP. 0606 is such a jumble of broken garbage and detritus that you're standing on a covering of uneven boards.

Enrico can climb over to 0705 with 2AP; the space is free to reach 0605 from there with only 1 AP (see, the floor is mostly white between those hexes). Therefore, I'm going to count your first declared move, Enrico, and put you in 0605. Neither you nor Kismet are close enough to swing at the creature from those hexes - but as demonstrated, the creature is close enough to swing at you.

I'm going to go ahead and roll, then put up the next round when I get a saving throw from Sofia.

The creature attacks Enrico, who dodges an extension of the mass as it swings at him. The creature then begins to shift over to 0503. [I swear, I rolled its direction randomly!]

Sofia Viktorova Koleva said...

I'll roll the d20 below, but can we not move further until I get a ruling on the question posed in the last thread re: whether that attack should have happened? The pseudopod won initiative, missed Sofia, got hit by Sofia then swung at and hit Sofia. Thanks.

d20: 6

Alexis Smolensk said...

A 6 is not sufficient to save the cloth against an acid attack. I don't know for certain what Sofia is wearing on the upper part of her body ~ but it is ruined. Not actually falling off, not exactly showing bare skin, but shredded with multiple holes and ineffective as a CLO provider.

I've answered the round order question. The creature won initiative; it has attacked twice and the party has moved once. So the party's move now completes the second round.

Sofia Viktorova Koleva said...

The creature made two attacks last round in the last thread and one attack this round for three total attacks. That is correct?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Ah, right. I didn't go far enough back. You're correct. I am sorry.

I did not, however, attack too many times with the monster: but I did steal a move from the boys between the time that Sofia attacked with a 14 and when I hit Sofia and stunned her. There should have been a move in there from Kismet and Enrico and there wasn't.

Sofia got her two moves in between the monster's three: one attack and one round stunned. But the boys got screwed.

Moreover, the number of rounds in the header above should be 3, not 2.

I put this down to the confusion and lack of posting that rounded off last week. I'm going to let it stand, arguing that there was a lot of hemming and hawing at the beginning there. Enrico and Kismet did not protest, so they lost that round.

Again, I'm sorry.

It is still the party's movement now, however.

Kismet said...

Since Kismet has his backpack on he only has 3AP anyhow...

I want to go to 0504, I'm not sure if with the debris I can make it there.

And with Sofia stunned and Enrico in 0605 I'll just have to wait for them to move.

Sofia Viktorova Koleva said...

It's OK Alexis.

I would, however, like for Sofia to use her monk's ability of back tumble when stunned, so that she occupies 0406 instead of 0505.

I hope that helps you Kismet.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Yes, of course, Sofia.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I've put up a new post.