Thursday, February 6, 2014

Ankhkeg Round 3: Ouch, Lukas!

The ankhkeg shoves other persons in the party around, too, pushing Andrej into Maximillian's hex and Ahmet back also. All four characters must be checked for incidental damage ... and I find that Ahmet, Andrej and Maximillian each suffer one point.

Here's the layout now. Remember that neither Andrej nor Maximillian can attack if they remain in the same hex together.


20 comments:

Ahmet said...

(Ouch.)

Andrej said...

Cursing his rotten luck, Andrej drops his sling and draws his mace. I think that still allows the 2 points necessary for an attack.

d20: natural 20
d20 again: 14
double damage: 11

Andrej said...

Sorry, skipped right over the part where I can't attack yet. Anrej waits for Max to act, and wastes a great roll.

Lukas said...

I use my ability to overcome stun once per day as per my background.

Of course I forgot this during the Hydra fight, but all to my own detriment.

Can I chuck (drop in an adjacent hex) the torch on the floor to get it out of my hand and have it still lit?

Also, I'm curious what hexes are now occupied? is 0429 part of the Ankhkeg and can I back up one hex without anything terrible happening?

Maximillian Boii said...

I move to Andrej's old spot, 630, and attack with my belaying pin

d20:7 (5+2)

Ahmet said...

(OOC: I'll wait for Lukas just in case his intention is to move into my hex.)

Andrej said...

Cursing his rotten luck, Andrej drops his sling and draws his mace. I think that still allows the 2 points necessary for an attack.

d20: 15
dmg: 6

Lukas said...

My intention is to move one hex away Ahmet.

I think with the staggering backwards from the damage I may already be clear of the Ankhkeg's reach.

If that IS the case, I want to drop the torch in 0429 and use a healing salve.

Ahmet said...

Ahmet swings at the Ankhkeg.

To hit: 9
Damage: 10

Sigh.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Well people, let's read the whole post, hm?

Andrej, for future reference, its not possible to get an odd number after doubling, so I'm not sure what you did there. You can MOVE first and then attack - and remember that you are technically moving ahead of Maximillian, as your movement is higher.

But you're right, sorry. I have to discount your roll.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Lukas, good choice at this time. Yes, you can toss the torch. It will give less light, and there is a 1 in 4 chance of the oiled cloth breaking apart from the torch and going out in a round.

I read that the Ankhkeg only restricts movement in 0529. You can attack from any of the six hexes surrounding that hex. A polearm (which obviously Lukas doesn't have) could attack from 0428, 0723 or 0330.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I'm going to count Andrej's first decision to attack (before wanting to attack) as a beat that lets Maximillian move first into hex 0630 as indicated. Maximillian's attack missed.

Ahmet, you're free to attack. Lukas, let me know what hex you throw the torch into, if that is your intention.

Andrej, your second attempt at a swing hits and successfully stuns the creature. It does not, however, as in the previous round, release a jet of acid all over everything.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Lukas, if you want the healing salve, you spend the round removing it from your body, prepping it and applying it to yourself. This will mean suffering one more damage from the wound, but after that point the wound closes and ceases to ail you.

Alexis Smolensk said...

That is a miss, Ahmet.

Lukas said...

Ok, I drop the torch and apply the healing salve.

Torch: 1

Healing Salve: 4

I get the feeling I would have preferred that swapped... If got to choose...

Alexis Smolensk said...

If I can just get confirmation on Lukas's choice to use a healing salve, we can move forward. The ankhkeg will shudder and turn from Andrej's blow, momentarily crushing Ahmet against the wall (for 1 hp damage) and scraping Maximillian's face with a back leg (1 hp damage).

Andrej said...

Regarding critical hits, I get the odd number by rolling 2d6 vs. doubling everything. I understand that's not your rule, but it is unfortunately what I'm used to doing. I'll try to remember just to roll, add bonuses and then double.

Lukas said...

Confirmation Above.

Lukas said...

Oh and hex 0429

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.