Thursday, October 3, 2013

Psammodrons Round 9 - Limbo



(F) moves and attacks Arkemis, rolling an 8 and missing.

(H) moves forward to 1125 and attacks Kismet, rolling an 18 and hitting the dwarf for 2 damage. That should stun the dwarf, driving him back yet one more hex, into 0926.

(B) hesitatingly takes two steps forward, watching the battle, to 1327.

Both (C) and (E) attack Enrico. The former rolls a 7, and the latter a 3, so that both of them miss.

And (A) is coughing, and was stunned by Sofia. These two effects do not compile, but A ends in 0529 (forgot to account for the stun movement on the last post).

That makes it the party's round.

Arkemis turns and attacks (H), hoping to free up Kismet, but rolls a 10 and does no damage.

Carlito will likely advance upon (C) to free up Enrico.

Neklan, Enrico and Sofia are free to take some action.

Following the party's move.


29 comments:

Kismet Korkmaz said...

Hey, Kismet was at 8hp (down from 15) was it 25% hp to stun?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Yes, that's correct ... 25% of total present hit points to stun.

Kismet Korkmaz said...

Sorry, I just dug it up from some pretty old posts. For some reason I thought it was 33%. I guess usually I only ever take large hits at a time.

Enrico Guerriero said...

Um... do we have a healer-type person for Enrico to retreat toward?

Kismet Korkmaz said...

Nope.
I hope you got cotton or some kind of similar cloth.

Enrico Guerriero said...

As I understand the "Fall back from combat" rule, it is 1 AP but I can only retreat a maximum of one hex?

So I can use 1 AP to retreat to 0728, but NOT use my remaining 2 AP to continue backing up?

Or do I not have to "Fall back" because E just got here and C, presumably, has just been engaged by Carlito -- so I could back up three hexes?

Alternately, could I use 2 AP to take a swing at C and then 1 AP to back up to 0728 or 0729?

Do I (or does Carlito) get a bonus to hit C if we both swing at him?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Presuming Carlito engages (C) ...

The rule is that it takes 1 AP to move per hex, plus a penalty of 1 AP to move OUT OF a hex that is adjacent to a combatant.

Hexes adjacent to a combatant that apply to Enrico include 0828, 0829, 0830, 0927, 0930, 1028, 1029 and 1030. We'll call these "combat hexes"

Therefore, if Enrico moves into 0830, that will cost him 1 AP to move into the new hex plus 1 AP penalty to move out of a combat hex. He would then need 2 more AP to move out of 0830.

HOWEVER, if Enrico moves into 0729, that would ALSO cost him 2 AP, but now he would not be in a combat hex, and could move to another hex at the cost of only 1 AP.

There is no rule that you can only retreat 1 hex from a combat in a given round.

The number of people you are adjacent to is irrelevant to moving out of a combat hex.

If you swing at (E), for example, and stun it, then all the hexes adjacent to E cease to be combat hexes for the round that it is stunned. It would fall back to 1030. However, because (C) is also adjacent to Enrico, 0829 is still considered a combat hex. Enrico would therefore not have enough move to escape from 0829. It is always presumed that C would be fighting both you and Carlito, with regards to what is a combat hex.

HOWEVER, if Enrico swings, and stuns, and if Carlito swings, and stuns, then none of the hexes around (C) and (E) would be combat hexes, and Enrico could expend 1 AP and move.

Otherwise, if Enrico swings at all, and either (C) or (E) is not stunned this round, Enrico has to remain in 0829.

If, however, Enrico moves to 0729, then (E) would no longer be in a combat hex either, and could therefore easily move forward and attack Enrico on its next turn.

Sofia Koleva said...

Sofia moves to hex 0924 to assist Arkemis and open hand attacks "F":

d20: 5

Enrico Guerriero said...

I got the "one hex maximum" from this chart of Actions and Movement Points that you sent us quite time ago.

"Fall back from combat. 1 movement point. Character retreats one hex maximum, still facing opponent."

I thought the idea was, yes, you can break from combat, but no, you can't run four hexes away even if you have the movement points to do it.

In any event, with only 3 AP, I'd only be able to retreat one hex and then E would be attacking me again, so there's no point in falling back. I might as well stand my ground, bleed my 1 HP, and attempt to take down E while Carlito does the same to C.

Anyone have any better ideas?

Sofia Koleva said...

I had rightly or wrongly interpreted a difference between disengaging & retreating (1 AP penalty when moving through combat hexes) and "falling back" which seemed more of a controlled, tactical movement backwards. The latter didn't invoke the penalty because you didn't change your facing and only moved one hex.

Given the above could Enrico swing and take the step backwards one hex?

Alexis Smolensk said...

I disagree that a person can both attack forward and fall back in the same round without also having the necessary points. Falling back is a different action, and requires 2 AP, 1 for the new hex and 1 for the penalty. If he wants to attack with a 3 AP movement, he cannot fall back as well.

Want the heavy armor? Sacrifice the movement.

Alexis Smolensk said...

If you want a suggestion, not scattering yourselves all over the map in a manner that makes it impossible to support one another in times of trouble might be the way to go.

Neklan Krasna said...

I move to 628. If the new rule about only casting cantrips at the beginning of the turn is in place, that's all I can do.

Enrico Guerriero said...

Alright... Enrico uses 0 AP to drop his saber, and 1 AP to draw his Horseman's Flail +1.

He then uses 2 AP to bash E.

To hit: 10
Damage: 5

Crap!

Alexis Smolensk said...

Really. That's all you can do. You can't, for instance, attack A at 0529 with a weapon. Thus making it possible for A not to turn around and kill Enrico, so the three of them can then move over and kill Artemis, Sofia and Kismet, AND THEN HUNT YOUR ASS DOWN ON THIS ISLAND UNTIL YOU ARE STONE COLD DEAD.

Or maybe you could run to the boat and put out to sea with no knowledge whatsoever of the currents, so they could drift you out into the Mediterranean and leave you to starve and die of thirst.

So long as there's nothing you can do.

I am perfectly willing to kill every last one of you, but if the plan is to do nothing until I do so, than I'd like to declare this battle over right now and quit. It takes time to draw up these battle maps and move these little guys around.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Please roll for Carlito, Enrico.

Neklan Krasna said...

I don't have a weapon. All I have are the cantrips. I figure my best bet is to try to take a hit, hopefully letting enrico survive another round.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Okay.

Well, that's a new one on me.

34 years of playing, I've never had a player deliberately enter into a game without any weapons.

Neklan moves to 0628.

Enrico Guerriero said...

Carlito slashes at C with his broad sword.

To hit: 17
Damage: 7

Die, you snakey bastard, die!

Neklan Krasna said...

I reread scrstvh, and it is usable in. this situation after all. If you'll let me cast it before my move, I'll try and keep A out of the combat one more round.

Neklan Krasna said...

Scratch

Alexis Smolensk said...

I'm flexible.

Scratch requires an area of the body to be targeted.

Kismet Korkmaz said...

I really hope I don't get hit next round.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Carlito's hit doesn't kill, but it does do a hell of a stunning job. (C) stumbles back crying in pain.

Enrico doesn't hit.

Except for Neklan's body part choice, the round should be over. Neklan will still be able to move to 0628 after casting the cantrip.

Neklan Krasna said...

Sorry, torso.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The creature A rolls a 1 and fails its saving throw. It staggers backwards four hexes to 0732, over the course of the attack by the remaining enemy.

Kismet Korkmaz said...

(OOC: Suspense mode activate.)

Alexis Smolensk said...

(OOC: sorry I've been short-tempered, fellas)

The update for the player's move has been posted. Working on the creature's move and the next post now.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.