Friday, July 12, 2013

Things Are Not As Bad As You Think

Whatever the party's take on things, the one head not actually being killed, the hydra was clearly hurt by Ahmet's blow. It pulls itself together, shudders, then moves back into the darkness ... the woman's head begins to succor the head that was struck, while the one head that is second from the right screams in a high-pitched man's voice, "THIS ISN'T OVER! YOU'RE ALL GOING TO DIE!"

Ahmet suffers another point of damage from the wound he received.


The party is free to take action.



43 comments:

Lukas said...

I release the acid arrow at the wounded head.

I want to make sure it comes back at 4/5ths strength.

d20+1: 20 (Not crit, rolled 19 As per fighter of my lvl +1)

3d4+1: 11

Holy cow I hope that kills the head. If not I'm glad it retreated.

Lukas said...

Wow when I wrote it that made sense, final roll after modifiers is 20 as per a fighter.

That said, I notice the head is 'in darkness' but I'm assuming the farie fire is lighting it up.

Ahmet said...

Ahmet moves two hexes north to 2110 (and closer to a Cure Light Wounds spell, I hope).

Enrico slings his shield and readies his short bow (1 MP?) and moves to 2207.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Thankfully, you can still see the creature though its pulled back into the dark because Maximillian's faerie fire lasts 4 rounds. So you can target the main head as the hydra retreats. Lukas will remember that the spell only requires you hit AC 10.

Whether it kills the creature's head or not is difficult to tell. It drops into the water ... that much is certain, but whether from stunning or the desired cause, you cannot tell.

Ahmet said...

Continuing from the previous comment thread, I was wondering about that as well concerning "extra" damage to a head -- does it go to the body, or is excess damage simply beating a dead horse?

Alexis Smolensk said...

(OOC: I have a bit of work to do and a terrifically important post I must write this morning. I'll keep in touch but this is going to be 3rd priority for me for a bit. Sorry about that - but the post should be fairly interesting)

Alexis Smolensk said...

I'll have to hold back on the answer to that last question, Ahmet (not privileged info).

Andrej said...

(OOC: LOVING the recent campaign world posts on the main site, though I'm still catching up there.)

Andrej steps to 2307 and casts cure light wounds.

Meet me at 2108 Ahmet. Shame we didn't baptize you, I'd be giving you an aid spell right now were you a proper Catholic already. ; )

Ahmet said...

Save me, Jeebus!

Maximillian said...

There's plenty of water here, Andrej... perhaps not the holiest of water.

After my spell is complete, I move forward one hex (back into 2009)

Lukas said...

I'm giving 70% odds there's an alternate exit that they will probably try and use to terrorize the towns in retribution.

Ahmet said...

Well, there has to be an alternate exit large enough to accommodate the hydra, unless it came in here as a baby hydra.

Lukas said...

I think we need to press forwards. But then again, I'm not the one who got hit with a crit.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Sorry, Andrej ... I had to rule earlier that the water stops you from moving and casting spells in the same round. You can stay where you are and cast, however.

Yes, shillelagh is special; it doesn't actually take a 'move' to discharge the spell into your club, since you're pretty much holding the club while you're casting.

However, the spell only lasts as long as you continue to hold the club - so don't let it go to do something else Maximillian!




Alexis Smolensk said...

(OOC: oh, incidentally, I upgraded the wiki quite a bit yesterday and last night. If you go to the root page, you'll find links that will take you to Druid, Illusionist and Cleric. I have the whole list of Cleric spells up now, and all the new cantrip lists under Illusionist. Druid, Illusionist and Cleric weapons are also there, with ranges, etc.

Lukas, I didn't quite get to the cantrip descriptions ... I'll get them up today if I can. You can then exchange any you have if you wish - this is a one-time offer. There are many new cantrips and some have been discontinued)

Alexis Smolensk said...

Oh, it'll have to be the wiki link on the main page. Forgot to change the one on the campaign. Anyway, go here:

http://tao-of-dnd.wikispaces.com/General+Index

Maximillian said...

I'm not sure I follow the specialness. You're saying that Shillelagh takes one less move than other spells that take 1 round, so this round I have full movement instead of movement-1? In that case I will move to 2108.

Lukas said...

(OOC: I'll try and check on them. However, tonight I get to deal with player intervention in my Skype game, therefore we shall see if I have time this evening.)

Maximillian said...

(OOC: Awesome, thanks! I'd been going off the old version of that info.)

Lukas said...

Normally a movement point is used to discharge spells, probably involving pointing and concentrating on not touching things and such.

Since your target is literally in your hand the whole time... There is no movement point spent on discharge.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Maximillian, regarding the spellcasting question. Check out this page. Please note there is a difference between 'casting' a spell and 'discharging' a spell. It's important not to get them confused.

Andrej said...

Got it. Andrej casts his spell and doesn't move... but given that loss of a hex will he possibly reach Ahmet to discharge by next round? How many hexes can you move, Ahmet?

Alexis Smolensk said...

(OOC: That special post is up. So pleased)

So, therefore, I don't believe I have a movement for Sofia. Lukas discharged, but still has 4 mp left.

I need to confirm that Andrej is casting cure light wounds and not moving.

Maximillian does have full movement. Movement to 2018 accounted for.

Ahmet's in 2110, Enrico in 2307. Anything else?

Andrej said...

Andrej is not casting at all, but moving to 2208 instead.

Sofia stays put, draws a throwing knife from her sleeve and flings it at the head in 2510 (and likely misses).

to hit: 17
dmg: 2

Lukas said...

Why not... Lukas will move to 2010.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I thought Andrej's move was 3; will take four moves for him to get to 2208.

According to the pages I just referred to (dagger can be found under Druid), Sofia is at medium range (-2 to hit) for a dagger thrown at a head (6-8 hexes). The 17, even with +2 for faerie fire, misses.

(GCI: I know you hate it when I do this, Andrej, but if you had said you were throwing at the body, you'd have been -5 to hit (9-12 hexes), but with that lower AC you would have hit. I'm a game DM and I just can't help pointing that out).

Ahmet said...

I have 4 MP, so 2 hexes per turn down here in the water. But do momentum rules apply if I continue heading north?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Momentum rules do apply - you can double your ground speed the next round ... but double ground speed is your maximum.

Andrej said...

Aargh! Is the rule 2 MPs to move out of any hex or just the first one?

Andrej takes a step toward Ahmet (2307).

As for Sofia, 2 points of damage divided, at best, by 4 seems about as good as a miss really... so Sofia will continue to take her chances on the heads unless she's throwing a dagger vs. a knife. I haven't misunderstood how damage is working, have I?

Alexis Smolensk said...

The movement point penalty is 1 ground move penalty PER HEX you move through.

Normally, then it costs 1 to move into another hex; so here, up to your thighs in water, its 2 moves per hex.

If you continue in a given direction, as Ahmet noted, you can double your ground speed, so Andrej could go 3 hexes next round - but this round, only 1 hex is possible.

Remember Enrico has moved already into 2307 and is loading, and won't be able to fire next round if Andrej enters that hex.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Regarding Enrico ... his move is 4 I think; he should be able to move forward (2 moves) and load (2 moves) without any problem.

Alexis Smolensk said...

And yes, Andrej, you understand the damage fine. I said you don't like it when I point out these things ...

Andrej said...

No, I like it OK. I'm way more frustrated with Andrej's movement options right about now. But that's because I'm eager and excited and up against a Friday without chance to see the next round until Monday, so please don't take it as unhappiness. :)

Ok... Andrej stays put and casts cure light wounds. You're going to have to get to me, Ahmet, if you want this spell.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Ahmet, you can make up to a 30-degree turn without losing momentum.

Lukas said...

Targeting Head: Much harder to hit, however will reduce damage taken by party by eliminating target's method of putting out damage.

Targeting body: Party takes more damage as the whole beast will pretty much collapse at once, more guaranteed damage.

That is my interpretation currently.

That said, if we're looking at a 40% lower chance to hit (probably given the body is the broad side of a barn), I think anything but very accurate attacks and melee going for heads.

My tactic will be to magic the heads that are weakened and dart the body like a giant pin cushion.

Ahmet said...

Next round, could Enrico advance to 2308 (2 MP) and then fire (2 MP), or would moving forward require him to reload his bow?

Ahmet said...

Is 30 degrees one hex facing?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Half a hex.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I added an explanatory image to the main post.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Enrico's move being four, yes, he could both fire and move a hex next round.

I will get up the next post in the hour.

Ahmet said...

So if Ahmet ends his next round making a 30 degree turn, and then advances two hexes "along the line", where does he wind up? In 2209?

Ahmet said...

The Enrico question was really can he move first and fire later, or must he fire first and move later.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.

All I mean, Ahmet, is that so long as you don't turn MORE than 30 degrees, you can move up to double speed next round. So you can move anywhere in an arc between 2307 and 1907 without having to slow down. But if you tried to move to 2408, for example, you'd turn too much and have to slow down.