Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Still In There. Still Swinging.

Before the Hydra's roll to hit.
The hydra moves back, the left-most head twisted back and stunned.  The two middle heads this time strike at Andrej, the right-most at Enrico.

Against Andrej I roll a 5 and a 13, missing.  However, I roll a 17 my third round in a row against Enrico, hitting AC -1 again.  I roll 2d8 and cause ... 4 damage.

Enrico will be beaten back into hex 2814.

Ahmet bleeds 2 damage from wounds.  This does not stun him (as it is not a hit).  I had ruled against bleeding causing stunning some months ago with the offline campaign.  (How much does a DM really want to abuse his players, anyway?).

Maximillian does not bleed, as he's being administered to.

Here is where it stands:



Make Your Move.




22 comments:

Ahmet said...

Ahmet salves himself... not sure how many AP that leaves him with, or if fetching/applying the salve use up all of them.

1D4: 2

So back to 8 HP. (Enrico now down to 3.)

Maximillian said...

Do I get another roll for consciousness, or does that happen after the salving is complete?

Lukas said...

I think he ruled salving was same round to prevent you from bleeding more yes?

d4: 2

Lukas said...

That said, if I still have actions at this point, I would like to drag Max away if he is unconscious, if not, I want to fight...

James C. said...

I sure am thankful for Andrej's plate mail now.

Andrej smacks the head directly in front of him that's peeking into his hex:

to hit: 14
dmg: 4

Sofia draws a throwing knife and flings it at the same head, as she's all out of daggers:

to hit: 20 (natural!)
2nd d20: 10
dmg: 4

Alexis Smolensk said...

If Maximillian is unconscious, he'll drown in the water if abandoned.

Maximillian, you'll need to make a wisdom check at your new adjusted hit points. You're at -2, so that's 80% of your wisdom - 13.6. So a 13 or less on a d20.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Sofia ...

If you need a 20 to hit, it's not critical. That's an old rule, but for a die roll to be 'critical' the 20 after adjustments must be 2 higher than that needed to hit.

However, that said. You are at +1 for bless, and in fact +1 for firing point blank, 2 hexes away ... so that's an adjusted 22, and that IS critical.

Whew!

4 damage stuns the second head from the left.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Incidentally, the one head with a cross on it should be free to attack when the party's turn is over. I should have taken it off before posting the second picture. It has already missed its attack turn.

I think that is the party's round. Even if Maximillian is conscious, Lukas has taken the round administering the salve; Ahmet chose to stop bleeding; Andrej and Sofia have gone and Enrico was stunned.

Still, I'm a bit busy this morning. I have vacation starting next week (I'll still be checking the game), and there are extra things to wrap up.

I'll try to have something up for one or two EST.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Oh, I nearly forgot.

Sofia, as a monk, you add 1/2 hp to damage PER LEVEL for all weapons. At 1st, this is usually discounted (has to be a full hit point for it to count), but for a critical, that's 2.5 x2 = 5 damage.

Andrej said...

Sweet. I think that's Sofia's best attack so far, with a 1d2 throwing knife.

(OOC: I'm looking forward to the next post. As Ahmet said, this has been an amazing fight. I think each round I've had a different idea on what we should do next. Probably the water slowing us down has kept Andrej here and plugging away more than anything. Hopefully it ends well for us either this combat or if we do pull back, the next one. I'm getting dizzy thinking about all of that XP and the treasure strewn about at our feet. Funny that the game still does that to me, eh?)

Ahmet said...

Enrico and Ahmet each can take one more hit. Max is already out of it and will possibly require someone propping him up for the rest of the fight just to not drown. On the other hand, especially given Max, I really don't see retreat as an option -- we're just too slow. One hit on Ahmet or Enrico as we flee and he's stunned, requiring us to stop or abandon him.

I don't think we have a choice... fight on!

Lukas said...

I'm hoping he wont require propping, I have some damage left to do...

Maximillian said...

d20: 13
Lukas, you'll feel me take some of my own weight. If you're listening closely, you might hear me whisper "...kill..."

Andrej said...

Sofia can prop, should it come to it. I think she's blown her wad as far as delivering damage goes and is here now to keep a torch lit, take a hit if necessary and provide support.

As far as retreat goes, keep in mind that the hydra may welcome us leaving at this point. We're all just a hit or two away from being in deep trouble. If we can keep stunning the heads we lessen the chances of a bad round, but we can't take another dose of the round that put Max down.

Lukas said...

All I have is one magic missile. Technically if you have any throwing knives left you are probably about as good as me. That said, I still want to do damage. I need to get to level 3 spells somehow...

Lukas said...

Oh and I also have some HP to donate to the cause, I'm at an unwounded 23.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Lukas, you'll feel me take some of my own weight. If you're listening closely, you might hear me whisper "...kill..."

There's some role-playing.

Maximillian regains consciousness ... and even has 3 AP to spend each round. His wisdom is high enough (13.4 still above the druid minimum of 12) to cast spells and technically he can still stand up enough to swing, if that's his choice.

Hey, Sofia, if you get a chance, open hand the thing for 1-3. You're going to be close enough.

I'm starting on the next round now.

Andrej said...

Your one magic missile is worth every dagger and knife Sofia has thrown so far just on the basis of it being an automatic hit. If you choose the right head (one of the bottom two seems most likely to me), you might even kill it.

Andrej said...

Open handing, hm? Well, I suppose it may have come to that...

Lukas said...

That's the goal, I wanted to save the missile for a head kill.

After that though I'm looking at only darts which I'm doing body shots since I doubt I'll hit that often.

Maximillian said...

Heh, all my spells are done.

Do I get the AP this round? Or the next?

I'm not sure how a bola works in game, but I'd assume it's as least as slow as a bow. Is it something I can use one-handed?

Anyway, cutting through the crap, I'm going to ready my bola whatever that entails, and you can decide when it comes to it my Shillelagh is still active.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.