Friday, December 21, 2012

Isarco Road, Round 5



Hichem pushed the last horses around the bend and there they pile up, blocked by the one ahead that Sofia tied, the pathway and Hichem on this side.  The servant turns around to see what's going on with the fight.

#3 looses an arrow at Lukas, -4 to hit.  He hits AC 5, which is good enough to ruin Lukas' spell.  He does 7 damage, and falls back to 1314, stunned.

#4 fired at Lukas as well, but missed.

#2 swings at ahmet, hitting AC 1.  Ahmet takes 5 damage ... which I don't believe stuns.

The other four bowmen all load.

#1 moves to 0813, and grins at Andrej is a disarming, fairly benign fashion.  "Are you getting your 80 gold pieces' worth, Father?"


It will cost 2 movement points to EXIT hex 1013, so Andrej will need three moves to reach any adjacent hex.  Andrej's to hit penalty, if he hurls a weapon, will be -4 to hit, and he will need to make a dexterity check (its a 60 degree slope he's on).

If Sofia decides to run forward, it will cost one extra movement point to EXIT an orange hex (such as 1014) but no penalty to ENTER an orange hex.  If she wants to attack up from 0913 (if that's a plan) she will suffer a 'to hit' penalty of -2.

Ahmet can attack if his hit points prior to being hit were 22 (I think that's right).

Lukas is out of it.

25 comments:

Andrej said...

Andrej begins casting hold person.

Andrej said...

Sofia moves to hex 0913 and strikes #1 with an unarmed attack.

She hits an AC 2 for 1 point of damage. I forget how you manage stun chance, but the PHBK says any hit that succeeds by 5 so if he's somehow AC 7, however unlikely, he's stunned.

Andrej said...

Correction, Sofia hit AC 4. I forgot to deduct the -2 penalty.

Andrej said...

Also, I assumed the movement penalty prevented Andrej from taking a step and then casting, as per rules on normal terrain. If that's not the case can he still move 5' before/ while casting.

Alexis said...

Andrej,

Can you make a wisdom check before you cast Hold Person?

The spell only takes a round, but logically you're on a 60-degree slope and not in the best of positions.

All the fellow up top has to do is try to overbear Sofia and she'll fall right into you. If he hits her, she CAN'T miss you ... and not only will the spell be ruined, but you'll have to roll well to keep from falling into the valley.

Sofia is a monk, so at least he has to hit AC 8 (not AC 10 if she was any other class), but he's clearly as tough as Ahmet, which gives him at least a better than 50% chance to hit; he's bigger than Sofia (I didn't give his exact size, but just being in armor makes him heavier than her), so she IS going to go back 5 feet on a hit, PARTICULARLY since she's on a 45 degree slope herself.

Finally, just because it seems to have been ignored, I mentioned that his smile was "disarming." I should have been clearer, I suppose. I mean that it looks as though he bears you no animosity whatsoever.

He'd hate to kill you.

Lukas said...

At best Lukas can take one more hit. With his sleep spell gone, I can guarantee he will take another arrow soon. If I get to 1-2 HP, don't mine me, but I'll be taking a knee unless you think I should do otherwise.

Ahmet said...

Ahmet had 22 (now 17), so not stunned.

Ahmet swings at #2 and hits AC 2 for 8 damage.

Alexis said...

Hits. Doesn't stun #2.

He grips his mace and looks very intent.

Ahmet said...

By my calculations #1 has now taken 20 damage and #2 has taken 15. Neither one has been stunned.

Alexis said...

(OOC: #2 took 16, I thought; you hit for 8 twice, didn't you Ahmet?)

Ahmet said...

You're right.

That's doesn't make me feel better :)

Lukas said...

Not every bandit is a level 1 bandit.

I don't see this fight ending well at this point unless someone pulls some lucky crits on OUR team.

James C. said...

I didn't think Lukas had cast Sleep yet, only intended to, so while the stun prevented the casting the spell shouldn't have been lost, yes? That aside, though, take the knee Lukas. The day is nout ours.

Andrej failed his wisdom check with a 19. But wouldn't an attempt to overbear logically push Sofia stright back from #1 (hex 1014) and not into Andrej?

Understood the smile was disarming, but assumed that was overconfidence at being so much clearly better than us. I still don't want to pay this asshole 80 gold, however charming he may seem, and since I failed the check its probably moot anyway.

Sofia's AC is 7, as per a background advantage of composition. Perhaps that doesn't factor into being born over but wanted to mention it.

James C. said...

Also, did not recieve a definitive answer above to Andrej taking a one-hex step, was this an oversight or a quiet acknowledgement that he either didn't or can't take one before casting?

Lukas said...

Nah, I started casting it. I'm pretty sure disruption loses the spell does it not? Or am I confused with other systems again...

Lukas said...

And beside, I said I'll take the knee at 1-2, I've still got a good healthy 7.

James C. said...

Ah, I see now that you did try to cast last round. My mistake.

Lukas said...

Yeah one of the archers got a damn good hit last round with his quick draw.

Alexis said...

The push would always be downslope in this circumstance.

I didn't answer the question about movement because it doesn't apply unless you intend to go ahead with casting the spell.

The wisdom check does not stop Andrej from casting the spell, if you as the player insist. I did want to draw attention to the situation, and the roll was a good way to highlight it.

We can still play it forward from what you'd planned, if you want.

Yes, the arrow hit blew Lukas' spell. He was 'casting,' gathering energy, and he hadn't yet 'discharged' the spell ... so when he's hit, the concentration is wrecked and the spell is gone.

To answer your question about movement, Andrej, any movement would require scrabbling with your hands and digging in, so even downwards would be a penalty of 2 move to keep you from falling. So no movement would be possible while casting the spell.

The lead maceman did tell you the archers were good shots, Lukas.

James C. said...

I'm not being petulant here but I do feel having stated Andrej was casting he should cast. I get that this will likely fail and these guys may push me into a ravine but I'd prefer that than backing out of a stated action simply because its now deemed a bad idea.

That said, the party should consider surrendering at this point, especially if the spell fails.

Alexis said...

(OOC: I don't take it as petulance, but as a philosophical approach. It is 'taking your hand off the piece' so to speak, thus you're committed.

I haven't preferred to play that way; I presume I've failed somehow to get the full situation across to the player. But I'm trying to say, given you want to play it how you wrote it, I will ... I want to be as flexible as you need me to be, either way)

So I am reading this at this point that Andrej IS casting the spell. This makes it my move. Agreed?

Ahmet said...

Now would be a good time for those new players to join our party, wouldn't it? :)

Alex said...

(Ready when you are... ;)

James C. said...

Agreed. Gulp.

Lukas said...

Oh come now, they're probably going to be honorable folks and take the 160g each all our weapons and our shoes we agreed upon earlier.